There are two areas to control if your Facebook note is visible to everyone.
First, you have to open your application permission door to the Facebook public. This application permission acts like a gatekeeper to control who can get in the Notes door and see your notes. The default permission is Everyone. Each individual note can be associated or applied by different permissions as needed. The default is still Everyone. If you set your Notes application permission to something else other than Everyone, and then you set your individual note to Everyone, your note will not be visible to everyone on Facebook. For example, if you set the Notes application permission to Only Friends, and you set your note to Everyone, it means that only everyone of your friends will see that note. In other words, the permissions for both the application and the note itself must be set to Everyone in order to share that note with the Facebook public. The following table could provides you some illustration.
|Notes Application Permission||Individual Note Permission||Who can see the note|
|Everyone||Everyone||Everyone on the Facebook this is the default.|
|Only Friends||Everyone||Everyone of your friends on Facebook|
For me, I set my Notes application permission to Everyone; then I use the individual note permission to control who can see my notes. Some notes will be shared with the entire Facebook community, some with my friends, some with certain people and some even only for myself. If you are sure that you won't share anything to the Facebook public, you can just simply to close the door by setting the application permission to something else other than Everyone. Then the unwanted guests won't be able to get into your Notes territory.
How and where to set the application permission settingsHere is one of the ways to do it.
- Navigate to your Notes page, and then at the top of the page (blue bar), mouse over Settings. you will see something similar as below.
- Select Notes Settings if it exists; otherwise, select Application Settings.
- If you select Application Settings, locate the application called Notes and then click on Edit Settings.
- Now you're at the application setting control box where you can change the permission.
Individual Note PermissionIn each note, you should find something similar to the following at the bottom of the note when you compose it. Set or change the permission as needed.
One more thing, Setting Everyone permission to both the application and the note will not make it to be visible to non-Facebook users. All users have to log in onto Facebook in order to see your note.